Game-Based Drills

Ultimate Influencers

Where Should I Hit the Ball?

By Bob Unetich 

USAPA-CERTIFIED REFEREE 

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Share:

Q & A 

A: No. As soon as the ball hit your opponent, it’s a fault on your opponent and the ball is considered dead (rule 7.H). Once the ball is declared dead, the rally is over, and you may touch the net post without penalty. If, however, you touched the net post before the ball was otherwise dead then, yes, your opponent would have been correct (rule 11.K). But in this case his fault (being hit with the ball) happened before you touched the net post. 

ANSWER

Q: Touching The Net Post

 

Hey Guru, At a recent non-officiated tournament, my opponent dinked a ball that bounced in the NVZ on my side of the net. After the ball bounced, I hit it hard enough that my opponent across the net could not get out of the way quick enough and the ball hit his arm. After the ball hit him, my momentum caused me to lose my balance. I was eventually able to steady myself by grabbing the net post. My opponent argued that I committed a fault because I touched the “net system.” Was my opponent correct? 

More Questions 

Partners Delaying The Serve

Receiver Not Ready

How To Change The Rule

Dear Guru, In a recent tournament match, the referee called the score once I was ready to serve. I served the ball, and my opponent claimed he was holding up his paddle indicating he was not ready. The referee warned me about serving before checking to see if he was ready. Was it correct for him to give me a warning?

Hey Guru, Who writes the rules for pickleball and how do they get changed? 

The Wheels are in Motion

Shop Pickleball

Screen Shot 2020-04-22 at 3.31.24 PM.png

Selkirk

Amped 

Invikta

$150.00

Screen Shot 2020-04-22 at 3.35.38 PM.png

LevelUp

Bag

100.00

Engage

    Poach

Advantage

$150.00

Screen Shot 2020-04-24 at 2.14.05 PM.png

Franklin

X-40

$19.99

LEVELUP PICKLEBALL 

CAMPS

OVER 100 CAMPS

IPTPA certified teaching pros. No more than 8:1 student to teacher ratio. 15 hours of instruction on all game aspects. Comprehensive daily progression.

"The Official Magazine of Pickleball"- USAPA

Pickleball Magazine has never been more illustrated: intensity, passion, meaning, insights, tournaments, products. Pickleball Magazine covers it all and goes out to over 100K readers every issue.

Pickleball Magazine 
11 Mayview Road
Canonsburg, PA 15317