Where Should I Hit the Ball?
By Bob Unetich
Q & A
Q: Asking Ref When Stacking
Dear Guru, My partner and I stack. Sometimes, especially after a long rally, we forget who is serving/receiving or if we are in the right position. So, we are always careful to ask the referee if we are the right server/receiver and if we are in the right position. Someone told me we could no longer ask the referee these questions. Is this true?
Your source is partially correct. Under the rules, which changed in 2019, and again in 2020, to further clarify the rule, the following should occur: If you are the receiving team and you ask if you are in the correct position, the referee cannot answer this question (See USAPA-IFP Rule 4.B.10) but may respond with “You have X points” or “Your score is X.”
The logic behind changing what referees may answer is that players should be able to determine their positions based on the score. Allowing the referee to tell players whether or not they are in the correct position is a form of coaching.
Hey Guru, Who writes the rules for pickleball and how do they get changed?
Hey Guru, Can the partner of the receiver or the partner of the server delay the referee from calling the score?
Dear Guru, In a recent tournament match, the referee called the score once I was ready to serve. I served the ball, and my opponent claimed he was holding up his paddle indicating he was not ready. The referee warned me about serving before checking to see if he was ready. Was it correct for him to give me a warning?