Game-Based Drills

Ultimate Influencers

Where Should I Hit the Ball?

By Bob Unetich 

USAPA-CERTIFIED REFEREE 

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Share:

Q & A 

Q: Partners Delaying The Serve

 

Hey Guru, Can the partner of the receiver or the partner of the server delay the referee from calling the score? 

Prior to January 15 of this year, a partner of the server or receiver could not delay the calling of the score except for some particular circumstances. This changed with the revised wording of Rule 4.C. Readiness. Any player may indicate “not ready” prior to the start of the score being called. See the sidebar for more explanation of this rule change. 

ANSWER

More Questions 

Asking Ref When Stacking

How To Change The Rule

Hey Guru, Who writes the rules for pickleball and how do they get changed? 

Receiver Not Ready

Dear Guru, In a recent tournament match, the referee called the score once I was ready to serve. I served the ball, and my opponent claimed he was holding up his paddle indicating he was not ready. The referee warned me about serving before checking to see if he was ready. Was it correct for him to give me a warning?

The Wheels are in Motion

Shop Pickleball

Screen Shot 2020-04-22 at 3.31.24 PM.png

Selkirk

Amped 

Invikta

$150.00

Screen Shot 2020-04-22 at 3.35.38 PM.png

LevelUp

Bag

100.00

Engage

    Poach

Advantage

$150.00

Screen Shot 2020-04-24 at 2.14.05 PM.png

Franklin

X-40

$19.99

LEVELUP PICKLEBALL 

CAMPS

OVER 100 CAMPS

IPTPA certified teaching pros. No more than 8:1 student to teacher ratio. 15 hours of instruction on all game aspects. Comprehensive daily progression.

"The Official Magazine of Pickleball"- USAPA

Pickleball Magazine has never been more illustrated: intensity, passion, meaning, insights, tournaments, products. Pickleball Magazine covers it all and goes out to over 100K readers every issue.

Pickleball Magazine 
11 Mayview Road
Canonsburg, PA 15317