Where Should I Hit the Ball?
By Bob Unetich
Q & A
The USAPA currently has a Rules Committee comprised of certified referee volunteers, USAPA staff and a professional player. During the year, the USAPA receives many suggestions and recommendations from players for changes to the rules. The Rules Committee considers and reviews almost all of these suggestions. Then, the committee proposes changes and submits them to the USAPA Board of Directors for approval, usually near the end of a calendar year.
Q: How To Change The Rule
Hey Guru, Who writes the rules for pickleball and how do they get changed?
Dear Guru, My partner and I stack. Sometimes, especially after a long rally, we forget who is serving/receiving or if we are in the right position. So, we are always careful to ask the referee if we are the right server/receiver and if we are in the right position. Someone told me we could no longer ask the referee these questions. Is this true?
Dear Guru, In a recent tournament match, the referee called the score once I was ready to serve. I served the ball, and my opponent claimed he was holding up his paddle indicating he was not ready. The referee warned me about serving before checking to see if he was ready. Was it correct for him to give me a warning?
Hey Guru, Can the partner of the receiver or the partner of the server delay the referee from calling the score?